Union County Board of Commissioners

The Board of County Commissioners is the legislative and governing body of Union County and consists of five members, elected at-large. Commissioners serve four-year staggered terms. During its first meeting of December, the Chairman and Vice Chairman are elected by and from the Board of Commissioners. In 1965, the Union County Board of Commissioners voted to choose the Commissioners/Manager form of government and appointed the first county manager.

Appointments to Boards & Committees

Board or Committee


Agricultural Advisory Board

Commissioner Jerry Simpson

Cardinal Innovations Community Oversight Board

Assistant County Manager Michelle Lancaster

Catawba River Water Supply Project Governing Board

Commissioner Richard Helms and

Commissioner Jerry Simpson

Centralina Council of Governments

Commissioner Jerry Simpson

Alternate: All Commissioners

Centralina Economic Development Commission, Inc.
Board of Directors

Vice Chairman Frank  Aikmus

Charlotte Regional Transportation Planning Organization

Commissioner Richard Helms

Alternate: Vice Chairman Frank Aikmus 

Economic Development Advisory Board

Vice Chairman Frank Aikmus

 Fire Commission Commissioner Jerry Simpson

Human Services Advisory Committee

Commissioner Richard Helms

Job Ready Partnership Council

Commissioner Richard Helms

Juvenile Crime Prevention Council

Chairman Stony Rushing

Library Board of Trustees

Commissioner Lance Simpson

Local Emergency Planning Committee

Commissioner Richard Helms

Parks & Recreations Advisory Board

Commissioner Lance Simpson

Rocky River Rural Planning Organization
Transportation Advisory Committee

Vice Chairman Frank Aikmus

Alternate: Chairman Stony Rushing

School Liaison

Chairman Stony Rushing and

Commissioner Lance Simpson

South Piedmont Community College Board of Trustees Vice Chairman Frank Aikmus

Transportation Advisory Board (Transit System)

Vice Chairman Frank Aikmus

Yadkin PeeDee Board of Directors


Clerk to the Board of Commissioners:
Lynn West, CMC

500 N. Main St., Room 914

Monroe, NC 28112
Phone: 704-283-3853
Copyright 2016 by Union County, North Carolina

Union County North Carolina does not endorse content on external sites (Please read Disclaimer)  ::   Webmaster