Gun Permits

Permits to buy handguns in North Carolina can be obtained from the county sheriff (or, in some counties, the clerk of superior court).  In Union County, it is the Sheriff’s Office. 

You must obtain a handgun purchase permit whether you purchase the weapon from a commercial dealer or a private individual.  The requirement also applies whether it is a transaction for money, an exchange or a gift. Anytime the weapon changes hands, a permit is required.

You must have one permit for each handgun you are purchasing.   Multiple long guns may also be purchased with a single handgun permit, however they must be purchased in a single transaction. 

Residents of Union County may obtain a permit to purchase a handgun in one of two ways.  The most convenient way is to submit an electronic application through our website at ucso.us. This service is available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.  You will submit an application and make payment online.  This service allows electronic tracking of the progress of your application and you will be notified by email when your permit is ready to be picked up.  The Union County Sheriff’s Office offers this online service as a convenience and courtesy to the community.  In addition to the per permit fee of $5.00,the system will charge a small transaction fee for the convenience of applying and paying for your permits online.  The convenience fee is not collected by the Sheriff’s Office.  This fee is paid to the company that provides this order, payment and processing system to the public and the payment of this fee is solely between the applicant and the company.

It is not mandatory that you use this online service to apply for a handgun permit.  You do have the option of submitting a paper application and paying in person at the Sheriff’s Office.  By doing so, you will not be charged the convenience fee. However, you will also not receive the benefits of applying online, including the ability to check the status of your application and receiving email notifications concerning your application.

All fees for handgun purchase permits must be paid upfront, in advance, at the time of application. All fees are non-refundable, even if your application is denied.

** If you have a valid concealed carry permit you do not need a purchase permit to buy a handgun.

Please read the Gun Permit Information below before applying.

When you are ready to apply click on the "Order Permits Online" link below.

Gun Permit Information >>     Gun Ownership Information >>     Order Permits Online >>


NC Firearms Laws >>

Contact
Contact

Sheriff`s Office
3344 Presson Road
Monroe, NC 28112
704-283-3789

Facebook   Twitter

Jail: 704-283-3641
Investigations: 704-283-3722
Civil: 704-292-2610
Community Resources: 704-283-3765
Records: 704-283-3585
Animal Services: 704-283-2308
Pet Adoption: 704-283-8303
Copyright 2014 by Union County, North Carolina