Skip to content

Union County, North Carolina

Library books

Friends of the Library

Friends of the Library

The Friends of the Union County Public Library are a support group that raises money for library programs. In addition, it presents three author events each year: its annual meeting in January featuring one or more local authors, a spring tea in April and an author dinner in the Fall. Tickets for the tea and the author dinner go fast, so be watching for announcements about those events.

You may join the Friends group for the low membership fee of $20. You are also welcome to become a working member of the Friends Board, to assist with the annual events. For information about the Friends activities, or upcoming meetings, call 704-283-8184 ext.241.

Contact Information

Nina Chaffin
Library Director
Email: nina.chaffin@unioncountync.gov

Lindsey Shuford
Assistant Library Director
Email: lshuford@unioncountync.gov


Monroe Library
704-283-8184
ucpladministration@unioncountync.gov
Children's Services
childrens@unioncountync.gov
Edwards Memorial Library
704-624-2828
marshville@unioncountync.gov
Reference Services
ucplref@unioncountync.gov
Union West Library
704-821-7475
unionwest@unioncountync.gov
Teen Services
teens@unioncountync.gov
Waxhaw Library
704-843-3131
waxhaw@unioncountync.gov
Genealogy Services
ucplgenealogy@unioncountync.gov

Library Locations & Hours

Locations and Hours of Operation

Monroe Library
316 E. Windsor St.
Monroe, NC 28112
Phone: 704-283-8184
Hours:
Monday - Thursday: 9:00 to 7:00
Friday: 9:00 to 6:00
Saturday: 1:00 to 5:00
Sunday: 2:00 to 5:00


Dickerson Genealogy & Local History Room
Monroe Library
Phone: 704-283-8184 x224
Hours:
Monday - Friday: 9:00 to 6:00
Saturday: 1:00 to 5:00
Sunday: closed

Lois Morgan Edwards Memorial Library
414 Hasty St.
Marshville, NC 28103
Phone: 704-624-2828
Hours:
Monday - Thursday: 9:00 to 7:00
Friday: 9:00 to 6:00
Saturday: 1:00 to 5:00
Sunday: 2:00 to 5:00

Union West Regional Library
123 Unionville-Indian Trail Rd
Indian Trail, NC 28079
Phone: 704-821-7475
Hours:
Monday - Thursday: 9:00 to 7:00
Friday: 9:00 to 6:00
Saturday: 1:00 to 5:00
Sunday: 2:00 to 5:00


Waxhaw Branch Library
509 S. Providence St.
Waxhaw, NC 28173
Phone: 704-843-3131
Hours:
Monday & Thursday: 9:00 to 7:00
Tuesday, Wednesday, Friday: 9:00 to 6:00
Saturday: 1:00 to 5:00
Sunday: closed

Holidays and Closings

In 2019, the Libraries will be closed on the following days:

New Year’s Day

Tuesday, January 1

Birthday of Martin Luther King, Jr.

Monday, January 21

Staff Day

Monday, February 18

Easter Holiday

Friday, April 19 - Sunday, April 21

Memorial Day Weekend

Saturday, May 25 - Monday May 27

Independence Day

Thursday, July 4

Labor Day Weekend

Saturday, August 31- Monday, September 2

Veteran’s Day

Monday, November 11

Thanksgiving Holiday

Thursday, November 28-Friday, November 29

Christmas Holiday

Tuesday, December 24-Thursday, December 26

All libraries close at 5:00 p.m. on Thanksgiving Eve & New Years Eve (Wednesday, November 27 & Tuesday, December 31).

Branch Managers

Tim Speasl
Branch Manager, Lois Morgan Edwards Memorial Library
Email: tspeasl@unioncountync.gov

Christie Starnes
Branch Manager, Union West Regional Library
Email: christie.starnes@unioncountync.gov

Elaina Wolfe
Branch Manager, Waxhaw Library
Email: ewolfe@unioncountync.gov