Skip to content

Union County, North Carolina

Library books

Online Courses

Online Courses

Learn how to speak English


English language learning for 19 non-English languages, including audio lessons, interactive textbooks, quizzes, phrasebooks and pronunciation analysis.

Drivers License Practice Test
Practice tests for the permit, driver’s license,
and the senior citizens’ refresher. Covers car, motorcycle and CDL licenses.

Books & Reading | Business & Legal | Digital & Streaming Content | Genealogy | General Reference | Kids |
Language Learning | Newspapers & Magazines | Online Courses | Students

Contact Information

Nina Chaffin
Library Director
Email: nina.chaffin@unioncountync.gov

Lindsey Shuford
Assistant Library Director
Email: lshuford@unioncountync.gov


Monroe Library
704-283-8184
ucpladministration@unioncountync.gov
Children's Services
childrens@unioncountync.gov
Edwards Memorial Library
704-624-2828
marshville@unioncountync.gov
Reference Services
ucplref@unioncountync.gov
Union West Library
704-821-7475
unionwest@unioncountync.gov
Teen Services
teens@unioncountync.gov
Waxhaw Library
704-843-3131
waxhaw@unioncountync.gov
Genealogy Services
ucplgenealogy@unioncountync.gov

Library Locations & Hours

Locations and Hours of Operation

Monroe Library
316 E. Windsor St.
Monroe, NC 28112
Phone: 704-283-8184
Hours:
Monday - Thursday: 9:00 to 7:00
Friday: 9:00 to 6:00
Saturday: 1:00 to 5:00
Sunday: 2:00 to 5:00


Dickerson Genealogy & Local History Room
Monroe Library
Phone: 704-283-8184 x224
Hours:
Monday - Friday: 9:00 to 6:00
Saturday: 1:00 to 5:00
Sunday: closed

Lois Morgan Edwards Memorial Library
414 Hasty St.
Marshville, NC 28103
Phone: 704-624-2828
Hours:
Monday - Thursday: 9:00 to 7:00
Friday: 9:00 to 6:00
Saturday: 1:00 to 5:00
Sunday: 2:00 to 5:00

Union West Regional Library
123 Unionville-Indian Trail Rd
Indian Trail, NC 28079
Phone: 704-821-7475
Hours:
Monday - Thursday: 9:00 to 7:00
Friday: 9:00 to 6:00
Saturday: 1:00 to 5:00
Sunday: 2:00 to 5:00


Waxhaw Branch Library
509 S. Providence St.
Waxhaw, NC 28173
Phone: 704-843-3131
Hours:
Monday & Thursday: 9:00 to 7:00
Tuesday, Wednesday, Friday: 9:00 to 6:00
Saturday: 1:00 to 5:00
Sunday: closed

Holidays and Closings

In 2020, the Libraries will be closed on the following days:

New Year’s Day

Wednesday, January 1

Birthday of Martin Luther King, Jr.

Monday, January 20

Staff Development Day

Monday, February 17

Easter Holiday

Friday, April 10 - Sunday, April 12

Memorial Day Weekend

Saturday, May 23 - Monday May 25

Independence Day

Friday, July 3

Labor Day Weekend

Saturday, September 5 - Monday, September 7

Veteran’s Day

Wednesday, November 11

Thanksgiving Holiday

Thursday, November 26-Friday, November 27

Christmas Holiday

Thursday, December 24-Sunday, December 27

All libraries close at 5:00 p.m. on Thanksgiving Eve & New Years Eve (Wednesday, November 25 & Thursday, December 31).

Branch Managers

Tim Speasl
Branch Manager, Lois Morgan Edwards Memorial Library
Email: tspeasl@unioncountync.gov

Christie Starnes
Branch Manager, Union West Regional Library
Email: christie.starnes@unioncountync.gov

Elaina Wolfe
Branch Manager, Waxhaw Library
Email: ewolfe@unioncountync.gov