Skip to content

Union County, North Carolina

Board of Commissioners

County Commissioners

BOCC Meeting Agendas & Minutes

Appointments to Boards and Committees

Procedure for Appointments to Boards and Committees

Board or Committee


Agricultural Advisory Board

Commissioner Jerry Simpson

Cardinal Innovations Community Oversight Board

Assistant County Manager Michelle Lancaster

Catawba River Water Supply Project Governing Board

Vice Chairman Richard Helms and

Commissioner Jerry Simpson

Centralina Council of Governments

Chairman Frank Aikmus

Alternate: All Commissioners

Centralina Economic Development Commission, Inc.
Board of Directors

Chairman Frank Aikmus

Charlotte Regional Transportation Planning Organization

Vice Chairman Richard Helms

Alternate: Chairman Frank Aikmus

Economic Development Advisory Board

Chairman Frank Aikmus

Fire Commission Commissioner Jerry Simpson

Human Services Advisory CommitteeVice

Vice Chairman Richard Helms

Job Ready Partnership Council

Vice Chairman Richard Helms

Juvenile Crime Prevention Council

Commissioner Stony Rushing

Library Board of Trustees

Commissioner Lance Simpson

Local Emergency Planning Committee

Vice Chairman Richard Helms

Parks & Recreations Advisory Board

Commissioner Lance Simpson

Rocky River Rural Planning Organization
Transportation Advisory Committee

Chairman Frank Aikmus

Alternate: Commissioner Stony Rushing

School Liaison

Commissioner Stony Rushing and

Commissioner Lance Simpson

South Piedmont Community College Board of Trustees Chairman Frank Aikmus

Transportation Advisory Board (Transit System)

Chairman Frank Aikmus

Board Vacancies

Union County Board of Commissioners Vacancies:

View Vacancies

Application Form

Contact Information

Clerk to the Board of Commissioners:
Lynn West, CMC
500 N. Main St., Room 914
Monroe, NC 28112

Phone: 704-283-3853

About the Board of Commissioners

The Board of County Commissioners is the legislative and governing body of Union County and consists of five members, elected at-large. Commissioners serve four-year staggered terms. During its first meeting of December, the Chairman and Vice Chairman are elected by and from the Board of Commissioners. In 1965, the Union County Board of Commissioners voted to choose the Commissioners/Manager form of government and appointed the first county manager.