Union County Boards and Committees
  The Union County Board of Commissioners appoints members to approximately 24 boards and committees that advise and assist in governing County programs. See list of Boards and Committees below.

How To Apply: If you are interested in applying for one of the boards and committees, applications may be obtained by calling Lynn West 704-283-3853 or choose the following:

Unsigned Applications WILL NOT be considered.

You may return your completed application by mail to Lynn G. West, Clerk to the Board of Commissioners, 500 North Main Street, Room 921, Monroe, NC 28112; by e-mail to west@co.union.nc.us; or by fax to Lynn G. West at 704-282-0121. Applications are retained on file for two years.

 Vacancies on the various boards and committees are advertised on the County's Web site (Click here for Vacancies), the Government Channel (Channel 16), and by notice posted at both the Union County Government Center and the Union County Judicial Center.
  The Clerk to the Board oversees the recruitment process and memberships to the various boards, committees, and commissions. Union County has approximately 24 citizen-based boards, committees, and commissions on which over 230 citizens serve. Letters of appointment, non-appointment, and appreciation are prepared by the Clerk's office.
 Board Name
  Board of Adjustment
  Region F Aging Advisory Committee
  Social Services Board - See Consolidated Human Services Board
  Adult Care Home Community Advisory Committee
  Criminal Justice Partnership Program Advisory Board - Abolished
  Equalization and Review
  Fire Commission
  Board of Health - See Consolidated Human Services Board
  Historic Preservation Commission
  Home and Community Care Block Grant Advisory Committee
  Jury Commission
  Library Board of Trustees
  Nursing Home Advisory Committee
  Partnership For Progress - Eliminated
  Planning Board
  Local Emergency Planning Committee
  Consolidated Human Services Board
  Monroe/Union Economic Development Advisory Board
  Agricultural Advisory Board
  South Piedmont Community College Board of Trustees
  Centralina Workforce Development Board (WDB)
  Cardinal Innovations Community Oversight Board
  Industrial Facilities and Pollution Control Financing Authority
  Juvenile Crime Prevention Council
  Parks and Recreation Advisory Committee
  Transportation Advisory Board ("TAB") - Abolished (NOT UNION COUNTY TRANSIT SYSTEMS' BOARD)
  Carolinas Medical Center-Union Community Trustee Council - Inactive